Petroleum Geosciences has a New Name!

It is with pleasure that we announce that effective June 1, 2019, the “Petroleum Geosciences” group of the Northwest Territories Geological Survey (NTGS) will be renamed “Energy Geosciences.”

The Government of Northwest Territories recognizes and embraces the economic and social evolution of the past decades toward renewable and alternative energy resources. This shift is also reflected in the NTGS Five-Year Strategic Plan published in 2017, which includes an expanded mandate for energy research in the Northwest Territories by including geothermal energy research. Currently, the Petroleum Geosciences group fulfills the role of this expanded mandate. Although petroleum geoscience will remain a core activity of the Energy Geosciences group, the name “Petroleum Geoscience” does not reflect the expanded scope of work currently being conducted by this group. The Energy Geosciences group consists of three NTGS staff members: Kathyrn Fiess, Viktor Terlaky, and Jonathan Rocheleau.